Hodgson springs Oxlade-Chamberlain surprise as he names England’s Euro 2012 squad.

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain was the surprise inclusion as new England boss Roy Hodgson named his 23-man squad for this summers European Championship tournament in Poland and Ukraine.

Hodgson, who replaced Fabio Capello just a fortnight ago, selected the uncapped 18-year-old winger despite him starting just six Premier League appearances during his debut campaign at Arsenal.

Norwich keeper John Ruddy, who has also yet to win an international cap, was another a shock call up and will do battle with Joe Hart and Robert Green for the number one jersey.

However the main talking point surrounds the omission of former captain Rio Ferdinand from the lineup with John Terry earning a place despite his upcoming court case over alleged racist abuse of Ferdinand’s brother Anton.

Liverpool captain Steve Gerrard will take the Three Lions armband just as he did at the 2010 World Cup and will be joined on the plane by teammates Stewart Downing and Andy Carroll who’s late season flourish has done enough to persuade Hodgson he deserves a place.

Carroll could lead the line during England’s opening two group games with France and Sweden with Wayne Rooney suspended but will have to nip in ahead of Danny Welbeck and Jermaine Defoe.

England squad for Euro 2012

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Man City), Robert Green (West Ham), John Ruddy (Norwich)

Defenders: Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Man United), John Terry (Chelsea), Joleon Lescott (Man City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Leighton Baines (Everton)

Midfielders: Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Stewart Downing (Liverpool), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Gareth Barry (Man City), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Scott Parker (Tottenham), Ashley Young (Man United), James Milner (Man City)

Forwards: Wayne Rooney (Man United), Danny Welbeck (Man United), Andy Carroll (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham)

Stand-by: Jack Butland (Birmingham), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Johnson (Man City), Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea)